The countries covered under the eastern African region are Burundi, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Kenya, Rwanda, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda. Issues pertaining to South Sudan being the youngest of the eastern African countries are generally covered under Sudan for the time being. With particular reference to climate change, it is a fact that the importance of the need for action is now well recognized in the region, because of the threats climate change carries to all the countries, and their individual and collective vulnerability to its adverse effects.
Countries also recognize their responsibility to reduce greenhouse gas emissions that aggravate climate change and its effects, and the crucial need to implement adaptation measures that will help them cope with its vagaries. This paper addresses two climate change initiatives popularly known as Nationally Appropriate Mitigation Actions (NAMAs) and National Adaptation Programmes of Action (NAPAs), both of which have their origins in decisions taken at the negotiations of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC).