The Southern African Development Community (SADC), made up of Angola, Botswana, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe, came into effect by the signing of a Treaty in August 1992 (ADF, 2005). When SADC was created the responsibility to coordinate regional development was delegated to member states with the Water Sector Coordinating Unit based in Maseru, Lesotho. In March 2001, a restructuring process was engaged and the 21 sector-coordinating units and commissions located in member states were abolished and replaced with four Directorates based at the SADC Secretariat in Gaborone, Botswana (ADF, 2005).